Back To Top

zirkulierBAR

Description
Staff
Publications
Partners

2021 - 2024

Intercommunal acceptance for sustainable valorisation of sanitary by-product streams

Vision

Recover nutrients from consumed food and return them to agriculture in the sense of a sustainable regional circular economy.

Cooperation Partners

NAME
Location
Country

Mission 

ZirkulierBAR is building an innovative and scalable recycling plant for the closed-loop treatment of contents from dry toilets. The end products are recycled fertilizers for agriculture and horticulture that are harmless to health, rich in nutrients and low in pollutants. Municipalities can plan and build a water-saving and resource-conserving alternative to linear water-dependent sewage treatment systems

Project structure

ZirkulierBAR is an inter- and transdisciplinary research project in Eberswalde, in the district of Barnim, funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) as part of the REGION.innovativ funding measure. Here, municipalities and future-oriented companies, together with universities and research institutions, are creating a real laboratory for sustainable regional circular economy in the field of land and water management. The project started in May 2021 and will run for 3 years.

In the recycling plant of Finizio – Future Sanitation GmbH in Eberswalde, contents from dry toilets are refined into hygienically safe, nutrient-rich and low-pollutant quality compost and multi-nutrient liquid fertilizer. In test operation, new plant elements are developed and quality parameters such as hygiene, low pollutant content or content of recycled nutrients are evaluated in test series. The processes are scientifically investigated in order to standardize safety and quality standards of the fertilizer, e.g. as a DIN standard. Environmental and economic models are developed, the fertilizer effect is investigated and the social acceptance of the novel recycled fertilizers in organic farming is analyzed. In addition, recommendations for the adaptation of the waste and fertilizer legal framework will be developed and dialog events with politics, economy and society will be carried out. From this, materials for simulation games or practical seminars will be developed for better communication as well as blueprints for the dissemination of the recycling approach. The zirkulierBAR reallaboratory also serves as a “transparent production facility” for interested parties from the fields of horticulture, agriculture, and fertilizer production, and promotes the intermunicipal exchange of knowledge and experience.

More than 30 municipalities and companies have already registered as interested observers from all over Germany. If you also want to participate in the experiences of the Reallabor, please write to: info@zirkulierbar.de

Consortium members in the zirkulierBAR joint research project are:

The IGZ is responsible for the coordination and management of the zirkulierBAR project (i.e. overall organization of the project, risk management, project control, data management, internal and external communication, reporting and evaluation). To monitor and evaluate the project objectives, an indicator-based self-evaluation with impact and risk assessment will be carried out in cooperation with the Institute for Futures Studies and Technology Assessment (IZT).

Furthermore, the IGZ participates in a work package for the development of new qualification profiles for academic & vocational education on the topic of sustainable regional circular economy and coordinates the scientific communication for the transfer of the scientific project results.

For further information on the project see www.zirkulierbar.de 

zirkulierBAR von REGION.innovativ

Funding body BMBF within the framework of the BMBF funding measure „REGION.innovativ – Circular Economy“. The responsibility for the content of the publication lies with the authors.

“REGION.innovativ” supports regions in addressing new research and innovation topics and establishing the necessary cooperation with new partners. Several funding rounds each focus on a topic that is particularly important for structurally weak regions. While the first funding round addressed the innovative design of working environments of the future, the current funding round is aimed at the recycling of substances, materials and products.

Other Projects

MoDeN – Model and Demonstration Project N Fertilisation – Optimisation of Nitrogen Fertilisation in Field Vegetable Production

The Fertiliser Ordinance (Düngeverordnung, DüV) regulates the good practice of fertilisation in Germany and thus implements the EU Nitrate Direct...

Read More

New Soil 21

Apple and asparagus plants are permanent cultivation plants with an average land use of 20 years for apples and 10 years for asparagus.

...

Read More

GeoSenSys

Georeferenced sensor-supported data management system for a site-specific irrigation and fertili...

Read More

Nach Oben

zirkulierBAR

Beschreibung
Mitarbeiter
Publikationen
Zusammenarbeit

2021 - 2024

Interkommunale Akzeptanz für nachhaltige Wertschöpfung aus sanitären Nebenstoffströmen

Vision

Nährstoffe aus verzehrten Lebensmitteln zurückgewinnen und diese im Sinne einer nachhaltigen regionalen Kreislaufwirtschaft wieder der Landwirtschaft zuführen.

KOOPERATIONSPARTNER

NAME
Standort
Land
Kreisstadt Eberswalde
Eberswalde
Deutschland
Landkreis Barnim
Barnim
Deutschland
Kreiswerke Barnim
Barnim
Deutschland
Finizio - Future Sanitation GmbH
Eberswalde
Deutschland
Hochschule für nachhaltige Entwicklung Eberswalde
Eberswalde
Deutschland
TU Berlin
Berlin
Deutschland
Deutsche Biomasseforschungszentrum gemeinnützige GmbH
Leipzig
Deutschland
Center for Responsible Research and Innovation
Berlin
Deutschland
mfm - menschen für medien
Berlin
Deutschland

Mission

zirkulierBAR baut eine innovative und skalierbare Verwertungsanlage für die kreislauforientierte Behandlung von Inhalten aus Trockentoiletten. Die Endprodukte sind gesundheitlich unbedenkliche, nährstoffreiche und schadstoffarme Recyclingdünger für Landwirtschaft und Gartenbau. Kommunen können eine wassersparende und ressourcenschonende Alternative zu linearen wasserabhängigen Klärsystemen planen und errichten.

Projektaufbau

ZirkulierBAR ist ein im Rahmen der Fördermaßnahme REGION.innovativ vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) gefördertes inter- und transdisziplinäres Forschungsprojekt in Eberswalde, im Landkreis Barnim. Kommunen und zukunftsorientierte Unternehmen schaffen hier gemeinsam mit Universitäten und Forschungseinrichtungen ein Reallabor für nachhaltige regionale Kreislaufwirtschaft im Bereich der Land- und Wasserwirtschaft. Das Vorhaben startete im Mai 2021 und läuft für 3 Jahre.

In der Verwertungsanlage der Finizio – Future Sanitation GmbH in Eberswalde werden Inhalte aus Trockentoiletten zu hygienisch sicherem, nährstoffreichem und schadstoffarmem Qualitätskompost und Mehrnährstoffflüssigdünger veredelt. Im Testbetrieb werden neue Anlagenelemente entwickelt und Qualitätsparameter wie Hygiene, Schadstoffarmut oder Gehalte an wiederaufbereiteten Nährstoffen in Versuchsreihen ausgewertet. Die Prozesse werden dabei wissenschaftlich untersucht um Sicherheits- und Qualitätsstandards des Düngers z.B. als DIN-Norm zu standardisieren. Es werden umwelttechnische und wirtschaftliche Modelle entwickelt, die Düngewirkung untersucht sowie die gesellschaftliche Akzeptanz der neuartigen Recyclingdünger im Ökolandbau analysiert. Außerdem werden Empfehlungen für die Anpassung des abfall- und düngerechtlichen Rahmens erarbeitet sowie Dialog-Veranstaltungen mit Politik, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft durchgeführt. Daraus werden Materialien für Planspiele oder Praxis-Seminare zur besseren Vermittlung sowie Blaupausen zur Verbreitung des Recycling-Ansatzes entwickelt. Das zirkulierBAR-Reallabor dient auch als „gläserne Produktion“ für Interessierte aus dem Umfeld Gartenbau, Landwirtschaft, Düngemittelproduktion und fördert den interkommunalen Wissens- und Erfahrungsaustausch.

Über 30 Kommunen und Unternehmen haben sich bereits als interessierte Beobachter:innen aus dem gesamten Bundesgebiet angemeldet. Wenn auch Sie an den Erfahrungen des Reallabors teilhaben wollen, schreiben Sie bitte an: info@zirkulierbar.de

Konsortiumsmitglieder im Verbund-Forschungsvorhaben zirkulierBAR sind:

Das IGZ übernimmt im zirkulierBAR- Vorhaben die Koordination und das Management (d.h. Gesamtorganisation des Vorhabens, Risikomanagement, Projektsteuerung, Datenmanagement, interne und externe Kommunikation, Berichterstattung und Verwertung.). Zur Überwachung und Bewertung der Vorhabens-Ziele wird in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Institut für Zukunftsstudien und Technologiebewertung (IZT) gemeinnützige GmbH eine Indikatoren-basierte Selbstevaluation mit Folgen- und Risikoabschätzung durchgeführt.

Darüber hinaus beteiligt sich das IGZ in einem Arbeitspaket zur Erarbeitung neuer Qualifikationsprofile für die akademische & berufliche Bildung zum Thema nachhaltige regionale Kreislaufwirtschaft und koordiniert die Wissenschaftskommunikation zum Transfer der wissenschaftlichen Projektergebnisse.

Weitere Informationen zum Projekt siehe www.zirkulierbar.de

zirkulierBAR von REGION.innovativ

Fördermittelgeber BMBF im Rahmen der BMBF-Fördermaßnahme „REGION.innovativ – Kreislaufwirtschaft“. Die Verantwortung für den Inhalt der Veröffentlichung liegt bei den Autor:innen.

REGION.innovativ unterstützt Regionen dabei, sich neuen Forschungs- und Innovationsthemen zu widmen und die dafür notwendige Zusammenarbeit mit neuen Partnern zu etablieren. In mehreren Förderrunden wird jeweils ein Thema fokussiert, das besonders für strukturschwache Regionen wichtig ist. Während die erste Förderrunde die innovative Gestaltung von Arbeitswelten der Zukunft adressierte, zielt die aktuelle Förderrunde auf die Kreislaufführung von Stoffen, Materialien und Produkten ab.

Weitere Projekte

MoDeN – Modell- und Demonstrationsvorhaben N-Düngung – Optimierung der Stickstoffdüngung im Freilandgemüsebau

Die. Düngeverordnung (DüV) regelt die gute fachliche Praxis der Düngung in Deutschland und setzt damit die ...

Weiterlesen

GeoSenSys

Georeferenziertes Sensor-gestütztes Daten-Management-System zur teilflächenspezifischen Bewäs...

Weiterlesen

Bioökonomie verstehen – Komm in den Kreislauf

IGZ und ATB haben an dem Wettbewerb „Stärkung des Transfers durch innovative Kommunikationsmaßnahmen“ des Ministeriums für Wissensch...

Weiterlesen