Back To Top

Urban Cycles

Description
Staff
Publications
Partners

2022 - 2022

A citizen science project on sustainable fertilization with urine-based recycled fertilizers in community gardens in Berlin 

Cooperation Partners

NAME
Location
Country

A circular view of fertilizer and food production is central to socio-ecological transformation. One important nutrient resource is human urine, which can be converted into a safe, pollution-free, and effective recycled fertilizer. In the “Urban Cycles” project, a recycled fertilizer made from artificial urine will be tested in community gardens in Berlin. The C.R.O.P® fertilizer (Combined Regenerative Organic Food Production) developed by the German Aerospace Center (DLR) will be made available to the participating community gardens free of charge. The new recycled fertilizer comes from DLR research facilities that are currently still operated with artificial urine. The gardeners then conduct their own experiments with the C.R.O.P® fertilizer and document their results. In dialog sessions, they evaluate their observations together with researchers. The aim of the project is to interactively impart knowledge on sustainable fertilization to gardeners and to involve them in the scientific process and socio-political dialogue on recycled fertilizers in a participatory manner. Through open formats and the principle of “by gardeners for gardeners”, the jointly developed knowledge is to be made accessible to as many other interested parties as possible.

The “Urban Cycles” project team at the IGZ is a cooperation between the research group “Next-generation horticultural systems ” and the Science Management. The project is also supported by the DLR in Cologne.

Übersicht des Vorhabens "Urban Cycles"

Grafische Darstellung des Vorhabens “Urban Cycles”

The project is funded as part of the “Hochschulwettbewerb”, which is announced annually by Wissenschaft im Dialog (WiD) in cooperation with the Federal Association of University Communication and the German Rectors’ Conference, and is supported by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research as part of the Science Year.

Other Projects

zirkulierBAR

REGION.innovativ – zirkulieBAR: Intercommunal acceptance for sustainable valorisation of sanitary by-product streams

...

Read More

BioStripPlant

Conservation tillage in organic vegetable production

...

Read More

MoDeN

Model and Demonstration Project N Fertilisation – Optimisation of Nitrogen Fertilisation in Field Vegetable Production

...

Read More

Nach Oben

Urban Cycles

Beschreibung
Mitarbeiter
Publikationen
Zusammenarbeit

2022 - 2022

Ein citizen science Projekt zu nachhaltiger Düngung mit urinbasierten Recyclingdüngern in Berliner Gemeinschaftsgärten 

KOOPERATIONSPARTNER

NAME
Standort
Land

Für die sozial-ökologische Transformation ist eine zirkuläre Betrachtung der Dünger- und Nahrungsproduktion zentral. Eine wichtige Nährstoffressource ist menschlicher Urin, der sich in einen sicheren, schadstofffreien und wirksamen Recyclingdünger umwandeln lässt. Im Projekt „Urban Cycles“ soll in Berliner Gemeinschaftsgärten ein Recyclingdünger aus künstlichem Urin getestet werden. Den teilnehmenden Gemeinschaftsgärten wird dafür kostenlos der vom Deutschen Luft- und Raumfahrtzentrum (DLR) entwickelte C.R.O.P®-Dünger (Combined Regenerative Organic Food Production) zur Verfügung gestellt. Der neue Recyclingdünger stammt aus Forschungsanlage des DLR, die aktuell noch mit künstlichem Urin betrieben werden. Die Gärtner*innen führen dann mit dem C.R.O.P®-Dünger selbst Experimente durch und dokumentieren ihre Ergebnisse. In Dialogrunden werten sie ihre Beobachtungen gemeinsam mit Forschenden aus. Ziel des Projekts ist es, Gärtner*innen interaktiv Wissen zu nachhaltiger Düngung zu vermitteln und sie partizipativ in den wissenschaftlichen Prozess und gesellschaftspolitischen Dialog zu Recyclingdüngern einzubinden. Durch offene Formate und das Prinzip “von Gärtnernden für Gärtnernde” soll das gemeinsam erarbeitete Wissen möglichst vielen weiteren Interessierten zugänglich gemacht werden.

Das „Urban Cycles“-Projektteam am IGZ ist eine Kooperation zwischen der Forschungsgruppe „Gartenbausysteme der Zukunft“ und dem Wissenschaftsmanagement. Unterstützt wird das Projekt  außerdem vom DLR in Köln.

Übersicht des Vorhabens "Urban Cycles"

Grafische Darstellung des Vorhabens „Urban Cycles“

Das Projekt wird im Rahmen des Hochschulwettbewerbs gefördert, der jährlich von Wissenschaft im Dialog (WiD) in Kooperation mit dem Bundesverband Hochschulkommunikation und der Hochschulrektorenkonferenz ausgerufen wird und vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung im Rahmen des Wissenschaftsjahres gefördert.

Weitere Projekte

zirkulierBAR

REGION.innovativ – zirkulierBAR: Interkommunale Akzeptanz für nachhaltige Wertschöpfung aus sanitären Nebenstoffströmen

...

Weiterlesen

BioStripPlant

Konservierende Bodenbearbeitung im ökologischen Gemüsebau

...

Weiterlesen

MoDeN

Modell- und Demonstrationsvorhaben N-Düngung – Optimierung der Stickstoffdüngung im Freilandgemüsebau

...

Weiterlesen