Back To Top

MicBiotech

Description
Staff
Publications
Partners

09.2020 - 08.2021

Agricultural biotechnology in Cameroon and Ghana: Development of formulations of beneficial and synergistic microorganisms for the simultaneous improvement of plant nutrition and plant protection (MicBiotech)

Cooperation Partners

NAME
Location
Country
University of Buea
Buea
Cameroon
AGROVISC
Douala
Cameroon
CSIR-Crops Research Institute
Kumasi
Ghana
EYRANAM Ventures
Ejisu-Ashanti
Ghana

Poor and declining soil fertility coupled with pest and disease problems are responsible for the huge yield gap between the actual production and attainable potential in Sub-Saharan Africa (SSA), which often results in food and nutrition insecurity.

The use of plant growth-promoting microorganisms (PGPM) as bio-fertilizers represents a potential tool for sustainable agriculture and trend for the future. Effective formulation of beneficial microbes can be used to improve plant nutrition and protection within the framework of integrated soil fertility management. Thus, research to define what bacterial traits are useful and necessary for different environmental conditions and plants, so that optimal bacterial strains can either be selected and/or improved.

However, microbial inoculant technology is underdeveloped in many African countries compared to developed nations. Lack of awareness, infrastructure, skill and absence of a supportive regulatory framework in SSA has negatively impacted the use of bio-fertilizers. Hence, this project funded in the outline of the BMBF (Federal Ministry of Research and education) call “Promotion of Development and Establishment of Contract Research in African Innovation Systems” intends to bridge the gap in exploiting microbial inoculant formulations within the integrated soil fertility management nexus in West (Ghana) and Central (Cameroon) Africa. The main aim of this collaborative project between the Leibniz Institute of Vegetable and Ornamental Crops (IGZ), the University of Buea (UB), CSIR-Crops Research Institute and private companies (AGROVICS and EYRANAM Ventures) is to sustainably enhance microbial inoculant production, adoption and utilization of synergistic beneficial microbes adapted to specific needs of farmers to improve plant nutrition and protection in Cameroon and Ghana, and initiate private sector uptake of the inoculant technology for production and commercialization of inoculants products that will boost agricultural production and economic growth.

For the exchange of fungal strains and biological material with Buea University in Cameroon, compliance with the Nagoya Protocol and Access and Benefit Sharing (ABS) Rules is mandatory. More information about our practical experience with obtaining ABS documents, can be found here.

Other Projects

BioactMOs

Integration of microbial inoculants and bioactive plant materials to optimize soil microbiology and the productivity of legume-based cultivation sy...

Read More

Precision-AMF

The Project ‘Precision-AMF’, funded by the European Innovation Partnership (EIP) aims to drive the implementation of commercial mycorrh...

Read More

VolCorn – Volatilome of a Cereal Crop-Microbiota System under Drought and Flooding

Climate change challenges global crop production on different levels, e.g. by an increased frequency of weather extremes which eventually result in...

Read More

Nach Oben

MicBiotech

Beschreibung
Mitarbeiter
Publikationen
Zusammenarbeit

09.2020 - 08.2021

Landwirtschaftliche Biotechnologie in Kamerun und Ghana: Entwicklung von Formulierungen nützlicher und synergistisch wirkender Mikroorganismen zur gleichzeitigen Verbesserung von Pflanzenernährung und Pflanzenschutz (MicBiotech)

KOOPERATIONSPARTNER

NAME
Standort
Land
University of Buea
Buea
Cameroon
AGROVISC
Douala
Cameroon
CSIR-Crops Research Institute
Kumasi
Ghana
EYRANAM Ventures
Ejisu-Ashanti
Ghana

Geringe Bodenfruchtbarkeit in Verbindung mit Schädlings- und Krankheitsproblemen ist verantwortlich für enorme Ertragslücken zwischen der tatsächlichen Produktion und dem erreichbaren Potenzial in Subsahara-Afrika (SSA), was häufig zu Ernährungsunsicherheit führt.

Die Verwendung von Pflanzenwachstumsfördernden Mikroorganismen (PGPM) als Biofertilizer ist ein potenzielles Instrument für eine nachhaltige Landwirtschaft und ein Trend für die Zukunft. Eine wirksame Formulierung nützlicher Mikroben kann verwendet werden, um die Ernährung und den Schutz der Pflanzen im Rahmen eines integrierten Bodenfruchtbarkeitsmanagements zu verbessern. Daher muss untersucht werden, welche Bakterienmerkmale für verschiedene Umweltbedingungen und Pflanzen nützlich und notwendig sind, damit optimale Bakterienstämme entweder ausgewählt und / oder verbessert werden können.

Die mikrobielle Impfstofftechnologie ist jedoch in vielen afrikanischen Ländern im Vergleich zu entwickelten und asiatischen Ländern unterentwickelt. Mangelndes Bewusstsein, mangelnde Infrastruktur, mangelnde Fähigkeiten und das Fehlen eines unterstützenden Rechtsrahmens für SSA haben sich negativ auf die Verwendung von Biodünger ausgewirkt. Mit diesem im Rahmen des BMBF (Bundesministerium für Forschung und Bildung) finanzierten Projektes „Förderung der Entwicklung und Etablierung von Auftragsforschung in afrikanischen Innovationssystemen“ soll daher die Lücke bei der Nutzung mikrobieller Impfformulierungen im Rahmen des integrierten Bodenfruchtbarkeitsmanagements in West- (Ghana) und Zentralafrika (Kamerun) geschlossen werden. Das Hauptziel dieses Kooperationsprojektes zwischen dem Leibniz-Institut für Gemüse- und Zierpflanzenbau (IGZ), der Universität Buea (UB), dem CSIR-Crops Research Institute und privaten Unternehmen (AGROVICS und EYRANAM Ventures) ist die nachhaltige Verbesserung der mikrobiellen Impfstoffproduktion. Einführung und Nutzung synergistischer nützlicher Mikroben, die an die spezifischen Bedürfnisse der Landwirte angepasst sind, um die Ernährung und den Schutz der Pflanzen in Kamerun und Ghana zu verbessern und die Einführung der Impfstofftechnologie für die Produktion und Vermarktung von Impfstoffprodukten durch den Privatsektor zu initiieren, die die landwirtschaftliche Produktion und das Wirtschaftswachstum fördern.

Weitere Projekte

BioactMOs

Integration von mikrobiellen Impfstoffen und bioaktiven Pflanzenmaterialien zur Optimierung der Bodenmikrobiologie und der Produktivität von Anbau...

Weiterlesen

Precision-AMF

Das von der Europäischen Innovationspartnerschaft (EIP) finanzierte Projekt „Precision-AMF“ soll die Umsetzung kommerzieller Mykorrhiz...

Weiterlesen

VolCorn – Das Volatilom einer Getreide-Mikroorganismen-Biozönose unter dem Einfluss von Trockenheit und Staunässe

Durch den globalen Klimawandel sind in der Zukunft vermehrt Extremwetterereignisse zu erwarten, welche unter Anderem zu zunehmendem Trockenheits- u...

Weiterlesen