Back To Top

QUALITY Plant Quality and Food Security

Research Domain FUNCT
FUNCT Functional Plant Biology
Research Domain MICRO
MICRO Plant-Microbe Systems
Research Domain MICRO
BIOINF Genomics and bioinformatics in horticulture
Research Domain QUALITY
QUALITY Plant Quality and Food Security
QUALITY.1 Plant quality for human consumption
QUALITY.2 Food chemistry and human nutrition
QUALITY.3 Economic development and Food Security
Research Domain HORTSYS
HORTSYS Next-Generation Horticultural Systems

Head of PA QUALITY: Prof Dr Monika Schreiner

The overall aim of the Programme Area “Plant quality and food security” (QUALITY) is to generate interdisciplinary knowledge grounded in life sciences and social sciences to strengthen sustainability, human nutrition as well as nutritional food security for all. We do so in a unique way by focusing on the genotypic diversity and targeted influencing of plant secondary metabolites (PSM) through the alteration of physiological processes in planta.  We outline the bio-functionality of selected plant metabolites in plant-environment interaction and in human nutrition by establishing a state-of-the-art analytical platform. In addition, we analyze the effects of vegetable production and consumption on food and nutritional security and livelihoods, including in both developed and developing countries. In doing so, our research contributes to multiple Sustainable Development Goals (SDG) along the plant value chain from life on land (SDG 15), sufficient and responsible production and consumption (SDG 12) to zero hunger (SDG 2) and good health (SDG 3), which in turn contribute to poverty reduction (SDG 1) and more gender and economic equality (SDGs 5 and 10).

We are focusing our core research on the three priority themes horticultural diversity, malnutrition related to chronic diseases, and targeted induction – and hence contribute to the mission of IGZ to understand fundamental aspects of horticultural, environmental and plant science, to enhance sustainability in production and use of plants, and to improve healthy nutrition and well-being of consumers.

 The Programme Area QUALITY is organized in three Research Groups (RG): QUALITY.1 “Plant quality for human consumption”, QUALITY.2 “Food chemistry and human nutrition”, and QUALITY.3 “Economic development and food security”. In addition RG QUALITY.1 includes two junior research groups: QUALITY.1.1 “Detection, biosynthesis and function of flavonoids” and QUALITY.1.2 “OptiGluP – Optimization of Glucosinolate Degradation Pathways” (Leibniz funding programme “Leibniz- Best Minds: Leibniz Junior Research Groups”).

QUALITY.1 Plant quality for human consumption

Head of RG QUALITY.1: Prof Dr Monika Schreiner

The general public has become increasingly conce...

Read More

QUALITY.2 Food chemistry and human nutrition

Given the current promotion of more plant-based, nutrient-rich diets, se-condary plant metabolites will draw increased attention. Carotenoids – a certain group of secondary plant metabolites – have been associated with reduced risk of chronic diseases, i.e. degenerative eye diseases.

...

Read More

QUALITY.3 Economic development and Food Security

Head of RG QUALITY.3: Prof Dr Tilman Brück

Food insecurity and malnutrition are most prevalent in...

Read More

Nach Oben

QUALITY Pflanzenqualität und Ernährungssicherheit

Programmbereich FUNCT
FUNCT Funktionelle Pflanzenbiologie
Programmbereich MICRO
MICRO System Pflanze-Mikroorganismen
Programmbereich BIOINF
BIOINF Genomik und Bioinformatik im Gartenbau
Programmbereich QUALITY
QUALITY Pflanzenqualität und Ernährungssicherheit
Publikationen des PB QUALITY, 2016-2019
QUALITY.1 Qualität von Pflanzen für die menschliche Ernährung
QUALITY.1.JR OPTIGLUP – Optimierung von Glucosinolatabbauwegen
QUALITY.2 Lebensmittelchemie und Ernährung
QUALITY.3 Ökonomische Entwicklung und Ernährungssicherheit
Programmbereich HORTSYS
HORTSYS Gartenbausysteme der Zukunft

Leiterin des PB QUALITY: Prof Dr Monika Schreiner

Das übergeordnete Ziel des Programmbereichs „Pflanzenqualität und Ernährungssicherheit“ (PB QUALITY) besteht darin, interdisziplinäres Wissen aus den Lebens- und Sozialwissenschaften zu generieren, um die Nachhaltigkeit in der gartenbaulichen Produktion, die menschliche Ernährung und die Ernährungssicherheit für alle zu stärken.

Wir tun dies auf einzigartige Weise, indem wir uns auf die genotypische Diversität von Pflanzen konzentrieren und pflanzlicher Sekundärmetabolite durch die Veränderung physiologischer Prozesse in planta gezielt beeinflussen. Wir charakterisieren die Biofunktionalität ausgewählter pflanzlicher Metaboliten in der Pflanzen-Umwelt-Interaktion und in der menschlichen Ernährung, indem wir eine hochmoderne analytische Plattform etablieren. Darüber hinaus analysieren wir die Auswirkungen der Produktion und des Konsums von Gemüse auf die Ernährungssicherheit und den Lebensunterhalt, auch in Industrie- und Entwicklungsländern. Auf diese Weise trägt unsere Forschung zu einer Vielzahl von nachhaltigen Entwicklungszielen (SDG) bei, entlang der Wertschöpfungskette der Pflanzen zum Leben auf dem Land (SDG 15), ausreichender und verantwortungsbewusster Produktion und Konsum (SDG 12) zur Reduktion von Hunger (Zero Hunger, SDG 2) und für eine gute Gesundheit (SDG 3), die wiederum zur Verringerung der Armut (SDG 1) und zu mehr Gleichstellung von Männern und Frauen (SDGs 5 und 10) beitragen.

Wir konzentrieren unsere Kernforschung auf die drei vorrangigen Themen gartenbauliche Vielfalt, Unterernährung im Zusammenhang mit chronischen Krankheiten und gezielte Induktion – und tragen so zur Aufgabe des IGZ bei, grundlegende Aspekte des Gartenbaus, der Umwelt- und Pflanzenwissenschaften zu verstehen und die Nachhaltigkeit in Produktion und Produktion zu verbessern Verwendung von Pflanzen und zur Verbesserung der gesunden Ernährung und des Wohlbefindens der Verbraucher.

Der Programmbereich QUALITY ist in drei Forschungsgruppen unterteilt: QUALITY.1 „Pflanzenqualität für den menschlichen Verzehr“, QUALITY.2 „Lebensmittelchemie und Humanernährung“ und QUALITY.3 „Wirtschaftliche Entwicklung und Ernährungssicherheit“. Darüber hinaus umfasst RG QUALITY.1 eine Nachwuchsgruppe QUALITY. JR „OptiGluP – Optimierung von Glucosinolat-Abbauwegen“ (Leibniz-Förderprogramm „Leibniz-Best Minds: Leibniz Junior Research Groups“).

Publikationen des PB QUALITY, 2016-2019

.

Aktuelle Publikationen des PB QUALITY

...

Weiterlesen

QUALITY.1 Qualität von Pflanzen für die menschliche Ernährung

Leiterin der FG QUALITY.1: Prof. Dr. Monika Schreiner

Die Öffentlichkeit ist zunehmend besorgt über d...

Weiterlesen

QUALITY.1.JR OPTIGLUP – Optimierung von Glucosinolatabbauwegen

Leiterin der Nachwuchsgruppe QUALITY.1.JR: Dr. Franziska S. Hanschen

Die Abbauwege von Glucosinolaten beeinflussen maßgeblich die gesundheitsfördernden Eigenscha...

Weiterlesen

QUALITY.2 Lebensmittelchemie und Ernährung

Leiterin der FG QUALITY.2: Prof. Dr. Susanne Baldermann

Pflanzliche nährstoffreiche Diäten werden z...

Weiterlesen

QUALITY.3 Ökonomische Entwicklung und Ernährungssicherheit

Leiter der FG QUALITY.3: Prof. Dr. Tilman Brück

Ernährungsunsicherheit und Mangelernährung sind in Län...

Weiterlesen