Back To Top

Molecular physiology of chilling tolerance of Petunia and Euphorbia pulcherrima

Description
Staff
Publications
Partners

2010 - 2014

Future greenhouse production of ornamental crops in Central and Northern Europe depends on the reduction of energy inputs. Plants with a higher tolerance against chilling stress can be produced at lower temperatures and thus reduce consumption of energy and resources. Obviously, gene pools of those plant species, which usually require moderately high temperatures for growth and development, include reserves, which can be used for breeding to enhance chilling tolerance.

Cooperation Partners

NAME
Location
Country
Dr. Heiko Mibus-Schoppe and Dr. Henning von Alten - Leibniz-Universität Hannover
Hanover
Germany
Dr. Susanne Amberger-Ochsenbauer - Weihenstephan-Triesdorf University of Applied Sciences
Weihenstephan
Germany
Dr. Dirk Ludolph and Frau Beate ter Hell - Chamber of Agriculture Lower Saxony
Oldenburg
Germany
Versuchsanstalt für Gartenbau Ahlem
Ahlem
Germany
Dr. Robert Boehm - Klemm+Sohn GmbH & Co KG
Stuttgart
Germany

Molecular physiology of chilling tolerance of Petunia and others

However, the lack of knowledge concerning the regulation of chilling tolerance at the molecular and physiological levels hampers the integration of low temperature concepts in greenhouse production. This project, which is part of the joint project „Chilling Tolerance of Plants“ within the WeGa network, aims to close these gaps. The objective is to specify parameters to determine tolerance to sub-optimal growth temperature, identify chilling-tolerant genotypes of Petunia hybrida and Euphorbia pulcherrima, and disclose relationships between the chilling response of growth (shoot and bract development, respectively) and changes at the levels of carbohydrate metabolism, plant hormone homeostasis and gene expression.

The studies include analyses of particular plant hormones by GC-MS/MS, of carbohydrates and related enzymes by enzymatic assays and with petunia expression analysis of approximately 25,000 gene sequences with a petunia microarray. Finally, it will be tested whether cultivars diverging in chilling tolerance exhibit characteristic response profiles at the molecular and physiological levels.

(part of the AgroClustEr WeGa, www.wega-online.org, funded by the BMBF)

Other Projects

Quality assurance in the production of ornamental cuttings

The quality of cuttings is currently being evaluated in young plant production only by external parameters. For direc...

Read More

Molecular and physiological regulation of adventitious root (AR) formation in Petunia cuttings in response to nitrogen preconditioning and dark exposure

In recent studies of our group it was demonstrated that adventitious root (AR) formation in cuttings of several plant species can be enhanced by hi...

Read More

Nach Oben

Molekularphysiologie der Kühletoleranz von Petunia und Euphorbia pulcherrima

Beschreibung
Mitarbeiter
Publikationen
Zusammenarbeit

2010 - 2014

In Mittel- und Nordeuropa gehört die notwendige Einsparung von Energie zu den großen Herausforderungen für die zukünftige Zierpflanzenproduktion in Gewächshäusern. Pflanzen mit erhöhter Toleranz gegen Kühlestress könnten bei niedrigeren Temperaturen kultiviert werden und somit zur Energieeinsparung beitragen. Auch wärmeliebende Pflanzenarten verfügen in ihrem Genpool offenbar über genetische Reserven, die für eine Erhöhung der Kühletoleranz genutzt werden könnten.

KOOPERATIONSPARTNER

NAME
Standort
Land
Dr. Heiko Mibus-Schoppe und Dr. Henning von Alten - Leibniz-Universität Hannover
Hannover
Deutschland
Dr. Susanne Amberger-Ochsenbauer - Hochschule Weihenstephan-Triesdorf
Weihenstephan
Deutschland
Dr. Dirk Ludolph und Frau Beate ter Hell - Lehr- und Versuchsanstalt für Gartenbau
Hannover-Ahlem
Deutschland
Dr. Robert Boehm - Klemm+Sohn GmbH & Co KG
Stuttgart
Deutschland

Molekularphysiologie der Kühletoleranz von Petunia und Euphorbia pulcherrima

Das mangelnde Verständnis der Regulation der Kühletoleranz auf molekularer und physiologischer Ebene behindert jedoch die gezielte Nutzung dieses Potentials. Hier setzt das vorliegende im Rahmen des WeGa-Verbundprojektes „Pflanzliche Kühletoleranz“ integrierte Projekt an. Wesentliche Zielsetzungen sind die Definition von Bewertungskriterien der Kühletoleranz, die Identifikation kühletoleranter Genotypen von Petunia hybrida und Euphorbia pulcherrima und das Aufzeigen von Zusammenhängen zwischen der Kühlereaktion des Wachstums (Spross- bzw. Brakteenentwicklung) und Veränderungen auf Ebene des Kohlenhydratmetabolismus, des hormonellen Gleichgewichtes und der Genexpression.

Hierzu werden Konzentrationen ausgewählter Phytohormone mittels GC-MS/MS, Kohlenhydrate und relevante Enzyme mittels enzymatischem Assay sowie bei Petunie die Expression von ca. 25000 Gensequenzen mit Hilfe eines Petunien-Mikroarrays untersucht. Letztendlich soll geprüft werden, ob Sorten mit unterschiedlichen Toleranzeigenschaften spezifische Reaktionsmuster aufweisen.

(Teilprojekt des AgroclustEr WeGa., www.wega-online.org, gefördert durch das BMBF)

Weitere Projekte

Qualitätssicherung bei der Produktion von Zierpflanzenstecklingen

Die Qualität von Stecklingen wird in der Jungpflanzenproduktion derzeit nur nach äußeren Parametern beurteilt. Für direkte Aussagen über die i...

Weiterlesen

Molekulare und physiologische Regulation der Adventivwurzelbildung in Petunia-Stecklingen unter dem Einfluss der Stickstoffvorkonditionierung und Dunkelexposition

Vorangegangene Untersuchungen unserer Arbeitsgruppe haben gezeigt, dass die Adventivwurzelbildung in Stecklingen verschiedener Pflanzenarten durch ...

Weiterlesen