Back To Top

ENATGLUPRO- Enzymatic and non-enzymatic degradative reactions during the thermal treatment of glucosinolates and their reaction products

Description
Staff
Publications
Partners

04.2016 - 03.2019

Glucosinolates are secondary plant metabolites in crops of the Brassicaceae family (e.g. broccoli, cabbage) that may help prevent cancer. Especially some of the enzymatically formed breakdown products that occur after cell-disruption are discussed in this context (isothiocyanates).

Cooperation Partners

NAME
Location
Country
University Hamburg
Hamburg
Germany
Wageningen University
Wageningen
Netherlands

However, many of these vegetables are not consumed raw but rather after thermal processing leading to an inactivation of the enzymes responsible for glucosinolate cleavage. Nevertheless, non-enzymatical degradation may occur due to heat effects. Breakdown products such as nitriles will be formed primarily and further degradation products are formed from unstable intermediate substances. Moreover, a change in flavor was reported that might be caused by thermally-induced degradation products of the mainly enzymatically formed isothiocyanates or epithionitriles.

At the moment it is not known to which extent and how long enzymatic and non-enzymatic degradation proceed simultaneously or how they interact. Therefore, this project will study the impact of both breakdown pathways on the degradation of glucosinolates in parallel. Only based on such data conclusions concerning the uptake of potentially bioactive compounds can be drawn. Additionally, the project will address thermally-induced subsequent reactions of the breakdown products. Structure-reactivity relations will be studied as well as the flavor impact of formed compounds.

Other Projects

Advanced UV for Life

Epidemiological studies revealed that a high consumption of fruits, vegetables, and herbs comes along with a lower risk for cancer, diabetes and ca...

Read More

HORTicultural INnovations and LEArning for improved nutrition and livelihood in east africa (HORTINLEA)

The HORTINLEA project started in July 2013 and runs for three years with a total budget of approximately 1.5 million euros per year. Two additional...

Read More

Junior Research Group `Detection, Biosynthesis and Function of Flavonoids´

...

Read More

Nach Oben

ENATGLUPRO-Enzymatische und nicht-enzymatische Abbaureaktionen im Verlauf der thermischen Behandlung von Glucosinolaten und Folgeprodukten

Beschreibung
Mitarbeiter
Publikationen
Zusammenarbeit

2016 - 2019

Glucosinolate sind sekundäre Pflanzenstoffe in Kreuzblütengewächsen, wie u.a. Brokkoli oder Weißkohl, die möglicherweise vor Krebs schützen können. Dabei sind es vor allem einige, der nach Zellzerstörung entstehenden enzymatischen Abbauprodukte, welche in diesem Zusammenhang diskutiert werden (v.a. Isothiocyanate).

KOOPERATIONSPARTNER

NAME
Standort
Land
Universität Hamburg
Hamburg
Deutschland
Wageningen University
Wageningen
Niederlande

Viele dieser Gemüse werden jedoch nicht roh verzehrt, sondern vorher thermisch prozessiert. Als Folge wird das abbauende Enzym, die Myrosinase, inaktiviert. Allerdings können GSL auch nicht-enzymatisch (thermisch induziert) abgebaut werden. Dabei entstehen vor allem Nitrile sowie Folgeprodukte aus instabilen Abbauprodukten. Die mit der Prozessierung einhergehende Änderung des aromatischen Eindrucks könnte auf (thermisch) gebildete Folgeprodukte der vor allem enzymatisch gebildeten Isothiocyanate oder Epithionitrile zurückzuführen sein.

Da bisher nur unzureichend berücksichtigt wurde, in welchem Maße enzymatischer und nicht-enzymatischer Abbauweg zeitgleich ablaufen und sich daher gegenseitig beeinflussen, sollen in diesem Projekt die Zusammenhänge beider Abbauprozesse auf GSL und deren Degradation untersucht werden. Nur auf Grundlage solcher Daten kann man Rückschlüsse zur Bedeutung und Aufnahme dieser bioaktiven Verbindungen mit der Ernährung ziehen. Das Projekt wird sich zudem mit den thermisch-induzierten Folgereaktionen der Abbauprodukte beschäftigen und den Einfluss der Struktur der Verbindungen auf deren Reaktivität sowie die Bildung Aroma-relevanter Verbindungen ermitteln.

Weitere Projekte

SEcondaRy UV

Im Projekt „SEcondaRy UV“ wird die Möglichkeit realisiert, neue wissenschaftliche Erke...

Weiterlesen

NutriAct: Ernährungsintervention für gesundes Altern: Ernährungsmuster, Verhalten und Produkte

(Kompetenzcluster Ernährungsforschung Berlin-Potsdam)

...

Weiterlesen

Advanced UV for Life

Zahlreiche epidemiologische Studien haben gezeigt, dass es eine inverse Beziehung zwischen einem hohen Gemüse- und Obstkonsum und dem Auftreten vo...

Weiterlesen