Back To Top

Quality assurance in the production of ornamental cuttings

Description
Staff
Publications
Partners

2014 - 2017

The quality of cuttings is currently being evaluated in young plant production only by external parameters. For direct statements about their inner “fitness”, the metabolic status and their rooting potential suitable diagnostic tools are missing. This obviously complicates an examination of the transferability of interesting fundamental knowledge into practice.

Motivated by this insight, we could show in a previous research project that using near-infrared spectroscopy (NIRS) a fast and non-destructive determination of the nitrogen (N) – and carbohydrate (KH) status of cuttings is feasible and it is possible to derive the rooting potential therefrom. 

Cooperation Partners

NAME
Location
Country
Hochschule Weihenstephan-Triesdorf - Institut für Gartenbau
Weihenstephan
Germany
Endisch Gartenbau GmbH & Co. KG
Hagenbach
Germany
Kientzler Gartenbau GmbH & Co. KG
Gensingen
Germany

Near-infrared spectroscopy as part of quality assurance systems in ornamental young plant production - Part of the German Agricultural Innovation Partnership (DIP)

However, actual use of NIRS in practice currently meets some difficulties. The current work has the aim to overcome these obstacles and to establish the determination of the N- and KH status by near-infrared spectroscopy as a routine method for quality control in the young plant companies.

To establish NIRS as an on-site routine procedure benchmarks for the optimum nitrogen and carbohydrate status of ornamental cuttings at harvest will be developed. We also want to better understand the processes in the post-harvest and their impact on the quality of cuttings. We analyze whether and what changes of nitrogen and carbohydrate status after harvest are useful as indicators to identify transport stress, in order to develop approaches for the optimization of the logistics processes.

Other Projects

Molecular and physiological regulation of adventitious root (AR) formation in Petunia cuttings in response to nitrogen preconditioning and dark exposure

In recent studies of our group it was demonstrated that adventitious root (AR) formation in cuttings of several plant species can be enhanced by hi...

Read More

Molecular physiology of chilling tolerance of Petunia and Euphorbia pulcherrima

Future greenhouse production of ornamental crops in Central and Northern Europe depends on the reduction of energy inputs. Plants with a higher tol...

Read More

Nach Oben

Qualitätssicherung bei der Produktion von Zierpflanzenstecklingen

Beschreibung
Mitarbeiter
Publikationen
Zusammenarbeit

2014 - 2017

Die Qualität von Stecklingen wird in der Jungpflanzenproduktion derzeit nur nach äußeren Parametern beurteilt. Für direkte Aussagen über die innere „Fitness“, den metabolischen Status und das Bewurzelungspotential der Stecklinge fehlen geeignete Diagnoseverfahren. Dies erschwert natürlich auch eine Prüfung der Übertragbarkeit interessanter Grundlagenkenntnisse in die Praxis.

Von dieser Einsicht motiviert, konnten wir in einem vorangegangenen Forschungsprojekt zeigen, dass mittels Nah-Infrarot-Spektroskopie (NIRS) eine schnelle und zerstörungsfreie Bestimmung des Stickstoff (N)- und Kohlenhydrat (KH)-Status von Stecklingen durchführbar und daraus eine Ableitung des Bewurzelungspotentials möglich ist.

KOOPERATIONSPARTNER

NAME
Standort
Land
Hochschule Weihenstephan-Triesdorf - Institut für Gartenbau
Weihenstephan
Deutschland
Endisch Gartenbau GmbH & Co. KG
Hagenbach
Deutschland
Kientzler Gartenbau GmbH & Co. KG
Gensingen
Deutschland

Nutzung der Nah-Infrarot-Spektroskopie zur Qualitätssicherung bei der Produktion von Zierpflanzenstecklingen - Teil der Deutschen Innovationspartnerschaft Agrar (DIP)

Der tatsächlichen Nutzung der NIRS in der Praxis stehen derzeit jedoch noch einige Hürden entgegen. Die aktuellen Arbeiten haben das Ziel, diese Hürden zu überwinden, und die Bestimmung des N- und KH-Status mittels der Nah-Infrarot-Spektroskopie als Routineverfahren zur Qualitätskontrolle in den Jungpflanzenbetrieben zu etablieren.

Zur Etablierung der NIRS als Vor- Ort-Routineverfahren werden Richtgrößen für den optimalen Stickstoff- und Kohlenhydratstatus von Zierpflanzenstecklingen bei der Ernte erarbeitet. Zudem wollen wir die Prozesse in der Nacherntephase sowie deren Auswirkungen auf die Qualität von Stecklingen besser verstehen. Wir analysieren, ob und welche Veränderungen des Stickstoff- und Kohlenhydratstatus nach der Ernte als Indikatoren zur Erkennung von Transportstress geeignet sind, um daraus Ansätze zur Optimierung der Logistikprozesse zu entwickeln.

Weitere Projekte

Molekulare und physiologische Regulation der Adventivwurzelbildung in Petunia-Stecklingen unter dem Einfluss der Stickstoffvorkonditionierung und Dunkelexposition

Vorangegangene Untersuchungen unserer Arbeitsgruppe haben gezeigt, dass die Adventivwurzelbildung in Stecklingen verschiedener Pflanzenarten durch ...

Weiterlesen

Molekularphysiologie der Kühletoleranz von Petunia und Euphorbia pulcherrima

In Mittel- und Nordeuropa gehört die notwendige Einsparung von Energie zu den großen Herausforderungen für die zukünf...

Weiterlesen